Merging contacts erased all of them

Hi,

Earlier today, I opened the Mudita Center to retrieve some pictures.

It’s been a while, and I discover that Mudita suggests merging contacts. I already noticed “duplicate” contacts created by Mudita, so this came handy. The suggestions all look good, I review them and apply them one by one.

To realise, when I’m done, that all my contacts are gone. From the phone, from the Mudita Center.

I have zero way to recover them. I am not asking for help, I just want to warn people before they use this feature, because it is broken in the worst possible way, with the worst imaginable outcome. No one is going to “refund” me for this bug. I’m pissed and I already anticipate the AI-generated answer from the helpless support.

While I enjoy the phone as a whole, I stopped recommending it. I cannot recommend a phone that deletes contacts with no warning. Mudita really needs to up their user research game, because AI-generated code can only get you this far.

Life goes on.

2 Likes

@pilou I am so sorry that this happened to you. I’ve reached out to our team about this and they’ve reported that they’ve never seen anything like it. We do contacts merging tests for each release since it was deployed and never noticed anything like it on any OS. So, without some more specific info (logs) we cannot diagnose how could this occur, this is very hard to reproduce, as again, first time we’re seeing this.

The tech team asked if you could provide a time and date when this happened to you. Additionally, could you please provide logs to us via Mudita Center:

Once we have the logs, we will be able to investigate how this happened.