Pros and cons of digital cameras and phone cameras

I’ve put this in ‘body and mind’ because it’s not a feature request for the Mudita Pure but more a general observation. I have a love-hate relationship with smartphone cameras or digital cameras in general.

I am a semi-professional photographer, mostly interested in fine art. But since I have children it is very appealing to take a lot of photos of whatever they do and wherever we are. The result is an overkill amount of photos and also less mindful moments with them, because I’m behind the camera. Especially the smartphone camera is a big offender, because of the ease of use and the attraction it has on the kids to afterwards take the phone from our hands and play with it. A separate camera does not have the same attraction to them, and adds a bit of purpose, too. You don’t take the camera out of your bag or pocket unless there is really a nice moment. But still: too many photos. I do have a few analog film cameras which take photos with incredible warmth, but my manual focus skills often miss the fast-moving kids :slight_smile: And also I want to avoid using those analog cameras as long as the kids are too small, because of the risk they open them and ruin the film - or worse - the cameras.

Having photos does not add much to our lives. Humanity could live without photos for thousands of years. On the other hand, it is really nice to go over some photos again after a year or two and see what we were up to. Time passes quickly and our memory is no longer what it used to be because of lack of sleep etc.

Hence, I do understand hence why the Mudita Pure does not have a camera and should not have one. But.