Would a 5G sim card work in the Pure?

So I was at the Mall and I asked someone working for Rogers which owns Fido and Chatr if reception in the basement would be better with Rogers 5G and he said it would. I am wondering now if I should try a 5G rogers sim card. Because Rogers owns Fido and Chatr and these providers work on the Pure, surely Rogers should as well. I am wondering if a 5G sim card would improve my connectivity inside my house and basement. I am not technical at all so I am hoping someone with more knowledge can chime in on this.

Cheers

1 Like

As far as I know, the Mudita Pure’s cellular radio supports nothing, generation-wise, beyond 4G LTE. A 5G SIM card cannot enable 5G service on the Pure.

Per a post that I made here several months ago, the Pure supports 4G LTE bands 1, 2 , 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 12, 13, 18, 19, 20, 26, and 28. Talk with Rogers about which of those bands work best at giving users a good signal in a basement.

1 Like

Also I just realized there are texts that are not coming in from a friend of mine that has a android phone, looks like anyone with a iphone texts come through, on lucky mobile, on Fido and chatr I had texts in and out from anyone no problem

1 Like

Yup seems like after awhile even on lucky mobile the phone has times when it will not connect. I was at the library and having issues with it. Popped the sim card into my AGM M8 flip. Been having a strong desire this week to use a pure dumb phone

1 Like

The compatibility of a 5G SIM card with a device like the “Pure” would depend on a few factors:

1. Device Capability: The device (in this case, the “Pure”) needs to support 5G technology in terms of hardware and software. If the device isn’t 5G-enabled, even if you have a 5G SIM card, you won’t be able to access 5G networks.
  2. Network Coverage: Even if your device supports 5G, you’ll need to be in an area with 5G network coverage from your service provider to utilize 5G speeds and benefits.